WSOP reveals list of 50 greatest players in poker history

As part of the 50th Annual World Series of Poker (WSOP) celebrations, WSOP officials have released the list of the “50 Greatest Poker Players” in history.

The list was compiled after votes from a panel made up of 26 poker media and industry stalwarts. Each voter was given a list of 200 players, along with the ability to add write-ins, and all told 173 different players received votes.

No rankings have yet to be involved, but simply selecting who belonged in the Top 50 list with the sole caveat that the player had played at the WSOP at least once.

Here’s the list in alphabetical order:

Patrik Antonius
Bobby Baldwin
Billy Baxter
Chris Bjorin
Justin Bonomo
Doyle Brunson
Joe Cada
Johnny Chan
Stephen Chidwick
TJ Cloutier
Allen Cunningham
Shaun Deeb
Tom Dwan
Eli Elezra
Antonio Esfandiari
Chris Ferguson
Ted Forrest
Phil Galfond
Barry Greenstein
Gus Hansen
Jennifer Harman
Dan Harrington
Isaac Haxton
Phil Hellmuth
John Hennigan
Fedor Holz
Phil Ivey
Berry Johnston
John Juanda
Bryn Kenney
Jeff Lisandro
Adrian Mateos
Jason Mercier
Michael Mizrachi
Chris Moorman
Carlos Mortensen
Johnny Moss
Daniel Negreanu
Scott Nguyen
Dominik Nitsche
Steve O’Dwyer
Puggy Pearson
Amarillo Slim Preston
Brian Rast
Chip Reese
Huck Seed
Erik Seidel
Vanessa Selbst
Dewey Tomko
Stu Ungar

Hosted by Lon McEachern and Norman Chad, the award presentation will take place in the Brasilia Ballroom and is open to all WSOP gold bracelet winners and VIPs.

It’s there that the WSOP will unveil the winners of seven different categories voted on by the public:

Most Memorable TV Hand
Best Overall WSOP Performance
Most Likely to Succeed
Fan Favorite
WSOP’s Favorite Bad Boy
Most Impressive WSOP Main Event Win
Four Most Important Players in WSOP History

The WSOP will also ask any former Main Event champions attending the gala to come up on stage for a group photo.